What penalties do I face if convicted of a DWI in Plano or Dallas, Texas?

What penalties do I face if convicted of a DWI in Plano or Dallas, Texas?DWI Trial Lawyer David Burrows

The State of Texas takes DWI offenses exceptionally seriously. The potential penalties you face depend on how many prior convictions you have on your record. After two drunk driving convictions, you are looking at a felony DWI for your third. The info below details the possible increase in penalties for each DWI conviction. (Disclaimer)

First DWI Conviction     

·       Up to 180 days in jail
·       Up to $2,000 in fines
·       A 1-year license suspension

Second DWI Conviction     

·       Up to 1 year in jail
·       3 days mandatory jail time
·       Up to $4,000 in fines
·       A 2-year license suspension
·       3 years of Driver Responsibility Program (DPS) fees to retain your license

Third DWI Conviction     

·       Felony on your record
·       Between 2 and 10 years in prison
·       Up to $10,000 in fines
·       Annual DPS fees

DWI with a Child in the Vehicle     

·       Child endangerment charges
·       Felony on your record
·       Up to $10,000 in fines
·       Up to 2 years in a state jail
·       180-day license suspension

If you are convicted of DWI two or more times within five years, the court will require you install an ignition interlock device. It is important that you hire an experienced DWI lawyer such as David Burrows to handle your case. David Burrows DWI attorney is known as one of the best DWI lawyers in Plano and Dallas.

DAVID BURROWS IS THE ONLY LAWYER IN TEXAS TO HAVE RECEIVED
3 NOT GUILTY JURY VERDICTS (ALL DWI CASES) IN ONE WEEK.

Save